The Andrew W. Mellon Society of Fellows in Critical Bibliography

sofcbIn July 2017, Rare Book School received a $1 million grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation to support the Andrew W. Mellon Society of Fellows in Critical Bibliography. Building on the success of the Andrew W. Mellon Fellowship of Scholars in Critical Bibliography, this scholarly organization will identify and investigate matters of new, compelling cross-disciplinary interest in the areas of bibliography and book history. The Society will especially direct its energies toward addressing the interpretation of original textual artifacts in concert with emerging techniques and technologies for the analysis and transmission of texts.

Current RBS-Mellon Fellows will be invited to join the Society as Senior Fellows, who will be responsible for the governance of the Society, for the planning of the annual meeting and additional Society-sponsored programming, and for the recruitment and selection of new members. Each year, ten Junior Fellows will be selected to join the Society through an open application process: they will receive funding to attend an orientation as part of the Society’s annual meeting, to take two Rare Book School courses, and to host a public symposium at their home institution. Junior Fellows will also be invited to attend a bibliographical field school. After two years of membership in the Society, Junior Fellows in good standing will become Senior Fellows.

Early-career scholars and researchers from all fields are eligible to apply for membership in the Society of Fellows. Applications are especially encouraged from individuals from underrepresented backgrounds, individuals from under-resourced institutions, and individuals working on topics currently underrepresented in the fields of book history and bibliography.

The following classes of applicants are not eligible for membership in the Society of Fellows: scholars who received their terminal degrees (Ph.D., M.L.I.S., &c.) ten or more years prior to the fellowship application deadline; students and faculty from institutions located outside the United States; tenured faculty; tenured scholarly professionals, and professionals hired at equivalent levels (e.g., full-time professional curators, associate directors of institutes, &c.); and individuals who have served on RBS’s full-time, year-round staff. Strong preference will be given to applicants who have not yet attended courses at RBS.

Applications will be available in early September and due on 1 November. To receive notification when applications have opened, please join the RBS mailing list.

Rare Book School would like to thank the members of the Society of Fellows planning committee for their essential contributions to the development of this project: Megan Cook (Assistant Professor of English, Colby College); Ryan Cordell (Assistant Professor of English, Northeastern University); Meghan Doherty (Director and Curator of the Doris Ullmann Galleries and Assistant Professor of Art History, Berea College); Stephanie Frampton (Associate Professor of Literature, MIT); Damian Fleming (Associate Professor, Department of English and Linguistics, Indiana University-Purdue University, Fort Wayne); Simon Grote (Assistant Professor of History, Wellesley College); Sonia Hazard (Visiting Assistant Professor of Religious Studies, Franklin & Marshall College); Joseph Howley (Associate Professor of Classics, Columbia University); Aaron Hyman (Assistant Professor of the History of Art, Johns Hopkins University); Dahlia Porter (Lecturer in English Literature and Material Culture, Glasgow University); Aaron Pratt (Pforzheimer Curator of Early Books and Manuscripts at the Harry Ransom Center, University of Texas at Austin); and Juliet Sperling (Doctoral Candidate in the History of Art, University of Pennsylvania).

2017–18 Council of the Andrew W. Mellon Society of Fellows in Critical Bibliography

  • President: Stephanie Frampton (Associate Professor of Literature, MIT)
  • Vice President: Dahlia Porter (Lecturer in English Literature and Material Culture, Glasgow University)
  • Secretary: Joseph Howley (Associate Professor of Classics, Columbia University)
  • Diversity & Outreach Committee Chair: Rhae Lynn Barnes (Postdoctoral Fellow, USC)
  • Program Committee Chair: Caroline Wigginton (Assistant Professor of English, University of Mississippi)
  • Selection Committee Chair: Elizabeth Yale (Lecturer in History, University of Iowa)

Advisory Board for the Andrew W. Mellon Society of Fellows in Critical Bibliography

  • Ann Blair (Carl H. Pforzheimer University Professor of History and Director of Undergraduate Studies at Harvard University)
  • James Green (Librarian of the Library Company of Philadelphia)
  • Charles Henry (President, Council on Library & Information Resources)
  • Jerome McGann (John Stewart Bryan University Professor, University of Virginia)
  • Patricia Meyer Spacks (Edgar Shannon Professor of English, Emerita, University of Virginia; past president of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences and the Modern Language Association)