New SHARP Scholar Bursary

The Society for the History of Authorship, Reading & Publishing (SHARP) awards a scholarship to promote, encourage, and create new opportunities for the ongoing education of bibliographically-inclined scholars and book historians. The New SHARP Scholar Bursary is an annual award offered to current graduate students and recent masters and Ph.D. recipients who wish to attend an RBS course. Beneficiaries of this scholarship receive full tuition to RBS and a stipend to help defray the costs of travel and lodging, for a total award of $2,300. Graduate students, recent MLIS and Ph.D. recipients, and those within five years of their last awarded degree in any discipline are encouraged to apply. Preference is given to applicants from outside the U.S.

Applications will be accepted directly by RBS. To apply, please submit an RBS scholarship application by the 1 November deadline. See the main scholarship page for application instructions. Scholarship applicants will be considered for all awards for which they are eligible. Participation in the RBS scholarship program implies acceptance of the scholarship Terms and Conditions.

N.B. This award was previously known as the SHARP-RBS Scholarship (2011–14). It became inactive following the 2017 awards cycle.

Previous Winners

2017 – Jose Maria Andres Porras
2016 – Vaibhav Singh
2015 – Stuart Barnard
2014 – Anne Harding, Alexandra Kordoski, Simon Rowberry & Lauren Williams
2013 – Patrick Crowley, Robb Haberman, Jillian Linster & Nikolaus Wasmoen
2012 – Emily Monty, Jonathan Olson, Jessica Rogers & Jonathan Thayer
2011 – Gabriel Fuchs & Katarzyna Plaszczynska