The Directors’ Scholarship

Intended for students and professionals in all fields that intersect with RBS course content. Preference given to applicants early in their careers. Approximately twenty awards given each year.

NCC/ABAA George Robert Kane Scholarship

The NCC/ABAA is accepting applications for the George Robert Kane Scholarship, which will provide funding to attend courses offered by Rare Book School, the Colorado Antiquarian Book Seminar, or California Rare Book School (Los Angeles).


IOBA Scholarship

The Independent Online Booksellers Association (IOBA) awards an annual scholarship to one of its members which may be used for Rare Book School, California Rare Book School (Los Angeles), or London Rare Books School.


ABAA Scholarship

The Antiquarian Booksellers’ Association of America (ABAA) maintains scholarship funds which may be applied to RBS course tuition.


William T. Buice III Scholarship

Intended for returning RBS students with demonstrable financial need.
Preference given to applicants from smaller institutions and those serving underrepresented populations.
Approximately ten awards given each year.


Fath Scholarship for Artists and Artisans of the Book

The Fath Scholarships for Artists and Artisans of the Book are open to individuals who routinely engage in hands-on work with printed artifacts, and who are ineligible for funding or financial aid through their places of work. Bookbinders, letterpress printers, graphic designers, conservators, papermakers, printmakers, type designers, and other book artists and artisans are invited to apply.


James Davis Scholarship

Awarded to an applicant who displays an especially strong record of good citizenship and stewardship in the bibliographical community.
One award given each year.

BSA-RBS Scholarship

Intended for students and professionals working on a bibliographical project that intersects with and could be informed by RBS course content.
Preference given to applicants early in their careers.
One award given each year.

Atlas Systems Scholarship

Awarded to a current or aspiring special collections librarian or archivist who is interested in the use of digital technologies in support of special collections librarianship.
One award given each year.

RBS-ASECS Scholarship

Awarded to current ASECS members who are attending RBS for the first time.
Up to three awards given each year.

SHARP-RBS Scholarship

Intended for current graduate students and recent masters/Ph.D. recipients.
Preference is given to applicants from outside the U.S.
One to two awards given each year.

Tavistock Books Educational Scholarship

The Tavistock Books Educational Scholarship is a full-tuition scholarship opportunity that is available to all antiquarian booksellers admitted to Joel Silver’s course, Reference Sources for Researching Rare Books (L-25).