San Garde Fellowship

In 1999, Rare Book School established the San Garde Fellowship, providing free tuition to an RBS course. It is awarded to a staff member currently working with rare materials at the Bodleian Library, Oxford University.

In 1989 (and again in 1998), through the good offices of Michael Turner and R. J. Roberts, the Bodleian Library allowed RBS to choose unwanted material from a large collection of printed materials donated to the Library in the 1970s by the San Garde family.

San Garde Fellows

2019 – Jo Maddocks
– no award made
– Alexandra Franklin
2010–2015no award made
2009 – Amanda Flynn
2008no award made
2007 – Francesca Galligan
2006no award made
2005 – Andrew Honey
2004no award made
2003 – Martha Catherine Repp
2002no award made
2001 – Julie Anne Lambert
2000 – Alan C. Coates
1999 – Michael Webb