RBS-Mellon SoFCB Junior Fellows for 2023–25

In July 2017, Rare Book School received a $1 million grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation to support a new RBS program, the Andrew W. Mellon Society of Fellows in Critical Bibliography. Building on the success of the Andrew W. Mellon Fellowship of Scholars in Critical Bibliography, the Society has been formed for the purposes of advancing the study of texts, images, and artifacts as material objects through capacious, interdisciplinary scholarship, and enriching humanistic inquiry and education by identifying, mentoring, and training promising early-career scholars. The Society’s members endeavor to integrate methods of critical bibliography into their teaching and research, to foster collegial conversations about historical and emerging media across disciplines and institutions, and to share their knowledge with broader publics. Each year, ten Junior Fellows are selected to join the Society through an open application process. After two years of membership in the Society, Junior Fellows in good standing become Senior Fellows. See the Society of Fellows page for more information.

Ten RBS-Mellon SoFCB fellowships for 2023–25 were awarded in May 2023.

2023–25 Junior Fellows

  • Jiayi Chen* – Ph.D. Candidate, Department of East Asian Languages and Civilizations, University of Chicago
  • Du Fei – Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History, Cornell University
  • Heng Du – Andrew W. Mellon Assistant Professor of Chinese, Department of East Asian Languages and Cultures, Wellesley College
  • Margaret Geoga – Assistant Professor of Egyptology, University of Chicago
  • Sharmeen Mehri – Ph.D. Candidate, Department of English, University of Buffalo, State University of New York
  • Christina Michelon – Associate Curator, Special Collections, Boston Athenaeum
  • Taylor M. Moore – Assistant Professor of History, Department of History, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Alec Pollak – Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Literatures in English, Cornell University
  • Neil B. Weijer – Curator of the Harold & Mary Jean Hanson Rare Book Collection, Department of Special and Area Studies Collections, University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries
  • Carly Yingst – Ph.D. Candidate, Department of English, Harvard University

* Recipient of the Nancy Norton Tomasko Fellowship

2022–24 Junior Fellows

  • Cat Lambert – Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Classics, Columbia University
  • Amanda Licastro – Emerging and Digital Literacy Designer, University of Pennsylvania Libraries, University of Pennsylvania
  • Gloria J. Morales Osorio – Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Spanish and Portuguese, University of Wisconsin­–Madison
  • Murad Khan Mumtaz – Assistant Professor of Art History, Art Department, Williams College
  • Cindy Nguyen – Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of History and Department of Literature, University of California, San Diego
  • Trina Parks* – Conservator for Rare and Distinctive Collections, Cornell University Library, Cornell University
  • Christopher T. Richards – Ph.D. Candidate, Institute of Fine Arts, New York University
  • Noam Sienna – Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of History, University of Minnesota
  • Yunxiao Xiao – Ph.D. Candidate, Department of East Asian Studies, Princeton University
  • Xin Yu – Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History, Washington University in St. Louis

* Recipient of the Nancy Norton Tomasko Fellowship

Open All
Close All